November 2024 – Murray Downs Golf Resort

2024 NSW Open Golf Logo

Final Results: 2011 NSW Open

Crawford Survives Thriller at Newcastle

Queenslander Adam Crawford held on to win the 2011 NSW Open at Newcastle Golf Club from Anthony Summers, Paul Donahoo, and rising Newcastle amateur Jake Higginbottom.

After playing near-flawless golf in the final round, Crawford was one happy man to win the NSW Open by one shot. After a disappointing first-round 74 in the rain on Thursday, the 36-year-old bounced back, shooting 66, 65 and 69 for a total of six-under-par 274.

After closing out his final round, Crawford watched as the challengers succumbed to final hole nerves.

Fellow Queenslander Paul Donahoo, the overnight leader at nine-under, and seasoned Sydney professional Anthony Summers had opportunities to force a playoff.

Donahoo was six under when he teed off from the 18th but dunked his second shot into the green-side bunker behind the hole. His third from the sand skated about 2.5 metres past, leaving him a tricky putt to save par and force extra holes. Sadly, he pushed his par putt right.

Summers, five-under with one to play, had a 4.5-metre birdie putt to grab a share of the lead but left his putt on the lip, leaving Crawford as champion.

Crawford was surprised with his win, given his prediction of the winning score being in the double figures at the start of the week.

β€œIt’s great to win a State Championship. I’m surprised to be the winner at 6 under. It just goes to show how great a course this is.”

β€œI think us pros will be talking about this course for a while. I thought getting into a playoff would be great, but to win is just awesome.”

Higginbottom finished his week by taking home the honour of leading amateur and second place.

1Adam CrawfordQLD74 66 65 69274 -6
2=Jake Higginbottom (a)NSW 68 69 68 70275 -5
2=Anthony SummersNSW 70 67 6672275 -5
2=Paul DonahooQLD 68 66 6774275 -5
5Mahal PearceNZL 69 7072 67278 -2
6=Peter NolanVictoria Flag 70 69 70 70279 -1
6=James NittiesNSW 67 69 6776279 -1
8=Aaron TownsendNSW71 7071 68280 EVEN
8=Douglas HollowayNZL7173 66 70280 EVEN
10=Matthew Stieger (a)NSW73 6971 682811
10=Max McCardleSA7272 67 702811
12=Marcus CainQLD 697172 702822
12=Ashley HallVictoria Flag 697171712822
12=Ben Campbell (a)NZL72 6672722822
12=Darren TanWA71 6772722822
12=Grant MoorheadNZL 69 6872732822
12=Heath ReedQLD72 67 67762822
18=Nick CullenSA717271 692833
18=Benjamin Clementson (a)NSW72 70 69722833
18=Jin JeongKOR73 70 67732833
18=Neven BasicNSW 69 70 70742833
22=Brett Drewitt (a)NSW73 6973 692844
22=Mitchell A. BrownNSW72 7071712844
22=Tristan LambertNSW 707171722844
25=Peter O'MalleyNSW7371 70712855
25=Ryan HallerQLD72 6972722855
25=Brett RankinQLD717274 682855
28=David KleinNZL72 6973722866
28=Kim FeltonWA71 7072732866
28=Kurt CarlsonQLD71 6873742866
28=Anthony BrownVictoria Flag 677172762866
32=Nick MacKayNSW72 6975712877
32=Michael CraigQLD 697374712877
32=Stephen LeaneyWA717372712877
32=Nathan Waters (a)NSW71 69 70772877
36=Craig HasthorpeVictoria Flag77 6473742888
36=John MartinoWA74 6973722888
38=Matt JagerWA717274722899
38=Daniel FoxWA 697475712899
38=Matthew GilesNSW72 69 67812899
41Bradley FasherNSW 6774747529010
42=Jamie ArnoldNSW 6871747929212
42=Graeme StockleyNSW 6971757729212
42=Damon WelsfordNSW 69 70767729212
42=Jason NorrisSA 6973717929212
46=Michael ChoiVictoria Flag 6674777629313
46=David BransdonVictoria Flag 70 70807329313
46=Rowan BesteQLD7271787229313
49=Brad McIntoshNSW73 69757729414
49=Steven JonesVictoria Flag7171797329414
51Peter ShawNSW7371787429616
52=Tony McNaughtonVictoria Flag7371728129717
52=Ricky Kato (am)NSW 7071777929717
54Joshua CarmichaelNZL 6974817529919
55=Kyle Grant (a)NSW7172768130020
55=Jason KingNSW74 70787830020
57Tim Hart (a)QLD 6876807930323
Players below failed to make the cut
59=Peter Stojanovski (a)NSW76 691455
59=Michael RasetaNSW74711455
59=Brent McCulloughNSW75 701455
59=Kelly Kraft (a)USA73721455
59=Jarrod MoseleyWA72731455
59=Leigh McKechnieNSW75 701455
59=Mark GilsonNSW74711455
59=Dean KinneyNSW 70751455
59=Wayne BerryNSW72731455
59=Andrew MartinVictoria Flag73721455
59=Michael FosterWA71741455
59=Andrew KellyVictoria Flag75 701455
59=Rohan BlizardNSW 70751455
59=Peter Spearman-BurnNZL74711455
73=Henry EpsteinQLD77 691466
73=Michael Williams (a)NSW71751466
73=Alex KatholosNSW72741466
73=Aaron BlackNSW76 701466
73=Adam Le VesconteQLD73731466
73=Aaron PikeQLD73731466
73=Andrius Belkus (a)NSW 68781466
73=Craig ScottVictoria Flag73731466
73=Terry PriceQLD76 701466
73=Michael Neaton (a)QLD75711466
73=Do Eun AnKOR74721466
73=Adam Downton (a)NSW76 701466
85=Hamish RobertsonNZL73741477
85=Benjamin PedersenNSW 69781477
85=Edward StedmanNSW 70771477
85=Scott ArnoldNSW75721477
85=Andrew Thompson (a)NSW75721477
85=Peter WeldenNSW77 701477
85=Adam KelleherNSW77 701477
85=Callan O'Reilly (a)NSW75721477
85=Daniel Bringolf (a)NSW73741477
85=Cameron Smith (a)QLD72751477
85=Chris HartasNSW71761477
85=Steven HorstmannVictoria Flag75721477
97=Beau McDonald (a)NSW73751488
97=Brayden Petersen (a)NSW76721488
97=Matthew BallardQLD74741488
97=Aaron CoxVictoria Flag74741488
97=Tim FrazerNSW73751488
97=Nick GillespieNZL76721488
97=Andrew EvansNSW75731488
97=Anthony GilliganQLD74741488
97=David McKendrickVictoria Flag75731488
97=Samuel BrazelNSW72761488
97=Taylor CooperNSW74741488
97=Michael SmythNSW71771488
97=Dimitrios Papadatos (a)NSW74741488
97=Josh Cabban (a)NSW73751488
97=Troy CoxNSW74741488
112=Alex Hamilton (a)TASMANIA FLAG ICON75741499
112=Martin DiveNSW74751499
112=Luke BleuminkVictoria Flag80 691499
112=Rhys McGovernNSW75741499
112=Jarrod Freeman (a)NSW75741499
112=Ben WhartonVictoria Flag73761499
112=Sam BurrellNSW74751499
112=David HandoNSW71781499
120=Cameron Haines (a)NSW767415010
120=Zac Stolz (a)NSW777315010
120=Ryan McCarthy (a)TASMANIA FLAG ICON727815010
120=Ethan ShanahanNSW797115010
120=Lincoln TigheNSW777315010
120=Chad InksterQLD727815010
126=Mathew Perry (a)NZL757615111
126=Steven JeffressQLD757615111
126=Ryan Smith (a)NSW777415111
126=Dean MeagherNSW797215111
130=Jonathan PainterNSW777515212
130=David AbbottNSW747815212
130=Ben PisaniQLD787415212
133=Deyen LawsonVictoria Flag757915414
133=Kota Kagasaki (a)JPN767815414
133=Simon FurneauxNSW777715414
133=Grant Thomas (a)NSW767815414
137=Glen EvansNSW827315515
137=Alex EdgeNSW807515515
137=Rudolph BezuidenhoutNSW817415515
137=Michael EtheringtonNSW807515515
137=Blake Windred (a)NSW837215515
142=James CarrWA768015616
142=Brady Watt (a)WA748215616
144Mitchell HarryNSW817715818
145Dale Brandt-Richards (a)NSW778215919
146=Robbie Hogan (a)NSW817916020
146=Joshua Clarke (a)NSW798116020
148Keiran BishNSW808116121
149Matthew Scarfone (a)NSW788416222
150Harrison Endycott (a)NSW868316929

Got A Question?

Contact us here at Golf NSW and we will try to assist